Shiny Metal Tiger

Experiences in Baltimore, MD

Stocking the pantry

leave a comment »

So one of my yearly goals this time around was to learn to cook Asian food. Which sounds stupid: what kind of Asian food? Learn to cook how? So what I meant when I wrote the list was that I should be familiar with the common spices and ingredients of East and Southeast Asian food (fish sauce, ginger, lemongrass etc.) to the point of just being able to throw something together from the basics plus some random ingredients, just as in ‘Western’ cooking you can always throw something together on the basis of oil, garlic, onion and tomato. So the first step was to go to Hmart and stock the pantry:

What did I get? Pretty much everything (except lemongrass, which must have fallen out of my trolley). And it was only a hundred dollars, hooray!

Success stories so far include a sauce for rice noodles from my dad, an oyster/honey/soy/pepper sauce from my friend Pete and a boatload of green Thai curry. More to come!

Written by Martin

2012/07/21 at 12:21

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

