Shiny Metal Tiger

Experiences in Baltimore, MD

Third Eye

with 3 comments

This week at work is kind of like Christmas. I’ve ordered a whole bunch of stuff for the trip and otherwise, so I should should be getting a package a day or so. Today it was some clothes, plus the new camera I bought for my upcoming road trip (more on that later).

After much deliberation, I finally opted for an Olympus E-PL1 micro four-thirds camera. Micro four-thirds means that, like Single Lens Reflex cameras, it has interchangeable lenses and a large sensor, but that it doesn’t have the mirror reflex system that gives those cameras their name. In practice it means that it has great image quality compared to a consumer point and shoot camera, but that it’s a lot smaller than professional cameras (though a lot bigger than aforementioned P&S cameras; it definitely won’t go in a back pocket).

I’m looking forward to manually playing with apertures, shutter speeds and ISO settings, even though my knowledge of these is both minuscule and purely theoretical. But hey, I have a month to learn before the trip right? I’m pretty sure I’ll be able to squeeze far better pictures out of this one compared to my current Sony, though, even with limited practice. I do kind of hope that I don’t get sucked too far into photography, as new, specialized lenses for these beasts typically cost anywhere from a few hundred dollars to nearly a thousand. I’ll stick with the one that came with the camera for now, at least until I’ve figured out the myriad settings I can change…

Olympus E-PL1 & M.Zuiko 14-42mm lens

Note that the E-PL1 is (obviously) in no way responsible for the quality of the above pictures; you’ll have to wait a while to see what it can do.

Written by Martin

2010/09/13 at 22:30

Posted in New toys

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a comment » I’ve been testing out the new camera a bit, and I figured I might as well share some of the pictures. I’m still very much learning […]

  2. […] waiting for some pictures from the event to be circulated. So for now, some more photos with my new camera. These are me fooling around with some of the ‘art filters’ of the camera; I’m […]

  3. […] of community feeling going round. A good way to spend an evening, or ten. No photos though, as the E-PL1 isn’t really nightlife […]


Leave a Reply

