Shiny Metal Tiger

Experiences in Baltimore, MD

Artscape and more

with one comment

This Saturday was great.

Woke up, fell out of bed, dragged a comb across my head. Found my way downstairs and drank a cup and Looking up, I noticed I was late. Found my coat and grabbed my hat, made the bus in second flat. Found my way upstairs and had a smoke, then somebody smoked and I went into a dream… aaaaaaahhhaaaaahahahhhh!

More seriously, there was a free arts festival in Baltimore this weekend, Artscape. Bunch of tents up in Charles Village, with artists selling freaky and delightful things, vendors peddling giant turkey legs and sponsors trying to convince you to eat their organic cereal or get a new phone.

Giant turkey leg. Well, regular sized really...

I spent a couple of around just getting a glimpse of it with Morten and his visiting friend. I loved how the art displayed was actually pretty unique, and especially how there were a bunch of tents with no discernible objective. A chillout lounge, a treasure hunt with obstacles and a hidden gold coin. A booth where you could write anonymous love letters that they would then deliver to “the man with the red shoes” and the like (I wrote one to the “dark-eyed girl”. We didn’t really stay for any of the concerts or the like, though we did see what I’d originally come for, the art cars:

I think this one was "The Story of Eve"

Ominous looking one

Ping pong balls!

There were a whole bunch of them, mostly privately owned (and often actually used daily). Many had stories behind them; some were by aspiring artists, others inventive teenagers. I particularly liked the dentures car, though I didn’t get a good picture of it. All very Baltimore.

Afterwards we went to a Lumbee tribe Native American Pow-wow, though not before seeing more cars being showed off outside the event hall:

The pow-wow itself wasn’t that great really. Perhaps a couple of hundred people gathered for dancing competitions and similar events, with plenty of booths in the periphery offering dreamcatchers, dubious looking Indian crafts and tees with Sitting Bull on them. After about 20 minutes I was all pow-wow’ed out. It should be said, however, that I appreciate them putting in the effort. More variety is always good, and in a small way this pow-wow made the world the better place. In my opinion.

Pow-wow, chikka-bow-wow

We might have called it a day at this point, and spent the evening working or playing Baldur’s Gate, but no! Rather, we invited the coworkers we’d met at the pow-wow to our place for dinner, then rushed off to Wegman’s to shop (though I had an ulterior motive of obtaining live yeast and stroopwafels), and then to Home Depot to get a table so we could eat on the rooftop deck.

It ended up as quite a feast, consisting of:

  1. Pork loin topped with shiitake mushrooms and wrapped in prosciutto.
  2. Pureé of sweet potatoes, carrots, turnips and parsnips.
  3. Cream sauce with Morels and white wine
  4. Watermelon/feta salad with some fresh basil
  5. Koldskål with pieces of fruit, since we had no time to bake kammerjunkere.

And of course bread and wine, plus candles for atmosphere. All very classy, and fortuitously leftovers remain in the fridge.

You may be thinking that I just tried to sneak one past you. What on Earth is koldskål? and kammerjunkere? Though I guess most of my readers from Denmark will know what I’m talking about, I am in fact not trying to simply confuse the rest of you. Rather, I’ll point you to a recipe for this delightful summer delicacy as soon as it’s posted on this cool blog of Scandinavian and other exotic recipes.

Written by Martin

2010/07/20 at 00:01

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Quite a good art fair I love those cars-I once hand painted a vespa in DK for my friend Jesper so I know a lot of hard work goes into that-very very cool!
    I love the turkey leg photo- goes with all things giant in the land of the USA

    dada

    2010/07/20 at 09:57


Leave a Reply

