Shiny Metal Tiger

Experiences in Baltimore, MD

Gross toroids of sugar-lard

with 2 comments

It’s official, I no longer like doughnuts. The last four times I’ve had one, I have not enjoyed it. I used to love them, happily eating half a dozen Krispy Kreme original glazed in one go; but now, whenever I chomp down on one, my palate is assaulted not by pure deliciousness, but rather by the unique texture of partially hydrogenated oils.

It might be because I’m eating a lot healthier these days, so the contrast to my regular food is greater. Which is of course hard to separate from the fact that I want to eat healthier, which might well foster an aversion to doughnuts. Or perhaps doughnuts in America are simply nastier than in Europe, due to laxer laws, consumer preferences or whatever else.

All in all, it’s not too bad. Better for my health, and if I don’t like them you can’t say that I’m missing something. It should be noted that I still very much like chocolate chip cookies (as well as oatmeal raisin cookies), and will happily eat half a dozen in one go.

Written by Martin

2010/06/11 at 11:42

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Next time you are in NYC we should go to the greenmarket and get apple cider doughnuts they have plain and sugared they are great! If I remember I may sneak some in your Mom’s suitcase before she departs for Baltimore!

    dada

    2010/06/11 at 16:26

  2. Sounds great. I’m certainly willing to give them another shot, especially if they are far away and inaccessible.
    On a related note, I’m making granola tonight, so I’ll send you some pictures and recipe.

    solarhaphaeriom

    2010/06/11 at 16:33


Leave a Reply

