Shiny Metal Tiger

Experiences in Baltimore, MD

This and that

with one comment

Hum, a while since I posted anything…

Been quite busy for a while, mostly from ramping up my workload at the lab. Which is a good thing really, if I want to accomplish anything. For a while I thought I had my first positive result thus far, and was even going to make a post about it, but the repeat of the experiment was inconclusive, so that’ll have to wait. A couple of other things have been up:

My birthday came and went, in style. I’d decided to stay up for the full 24 hours of that day, to get the full experience. So I went to bed at eight the day before, and was awoken at midnight by the sound of the Von Bondies. I went down to the living room, and beheld my awesome flatmates having stayed up to keep me company. I had a nice breakfast consisting of oatmeal with raisins, crushed walnuts and milk, plus a shot of anejo tequila. We then played Magic the Gathering until four in the morning, at which point another friend came over for studying and talking. Alas, it was a workday, so at eightish I went to work, but not before writing down a list of goals for this year. This is something I was inspired to do by Arnold Schwarzenegger, but more on that later. A hard day’s work (and workout, as usual), and then back to the Mystery Mansion to change and read a chapter in my new(ish) exercise book, just because I’d put it on my todo list for the day and damn well wasn’t going to wuss out. Onwards and upwards, to dinner with friends at a nice Bmore restaurant called Salt. It’s a good place, but they kind of know it. Little pretentious, and though the food was good, it was perhaps a tad too ambitious. I’d already been allured by the pecan-crusted Mahi filet on the menu online, and while it was elegant and well prepared, there was the slight omission of any taste in the actual filet… their duck fat french fries were super though, and it definitely wasn’t bad overall. Then back to the Mystery Mansion for the inauguration of our bimonthly movie classics night; Blues Brothers was funkier than I remembered, but no less amusing. And it was made even better by the delicious cake a friend had made for me, as well as the company. In the end I managed to stay awake for the full duration, owing largely to my support network and the lack of any meetings at the lab that day.

In other news, the Night Terrors have been knocked out of the Charm City Rollerderby championships; they keep playing as though they have awesome jammers who can swoop by the pack with no assistance, which just isn’t the case. They seriously need to stop playing with their blockers firmly at the back of the pack. It was so bad that I almost dropped my support for the team…

Now, back to the yearly todo lists. I was randomly reading about Arnold Schwarzenegger on Wikipedia, and stumbled across this quote, from his former girlfriend:

“He was a prolific goal setter,” Baker remembers. “He would write the most extraordinary targets on little index cards on January 1. Ridiculous things, like starting a mail-order business or buying a BMW. And, by the end of the year, they’d all be done.”

I’ve had a lot of success in getting things done by making rather extensive to-do lists for every day. So when I read that, I came to the conclusion that there’s no reason it shouldn’t work for yearly lists as well. It certainly did for Arnold. So without further ado, here are the things I need to get done this year, in no particular order:

  • Publish/submit 3 papers
  • Formulate concrete plan for preventing aging
  • Write a short story
  • Learn firebreathing
  • Start a company
  • Start caloric restriction

Lunacy? Perhaps, but that shouldn’t stop me from doing it. As of today, little if any progress has been made for any of the points. Thankfully I have 51 more weeks to have at them.

Written by Martin

2010/04/27 at 22:03

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 2 comments You may recall that I made a list, on my birthday, of six things I needed to get done this year. Some of these were more closely […]


Leave a Reply

