Shiny Metal Tiger

Experiences in Baltimore, MD

I hate FedEx

with 2 comments

So, yesterday I ended up waiting for FedEx from eight in the morning until two in the afternoon, at which point I had to go to the lab for a meeting. To rub it in, I see the FedEx van come while I’m waiting for the bus, but at that point I really need to get to work, so even running back home isn’t an option. Besides, it’s no big deal, I figure. Either they’ll come tomorrow to drop it off, or I’ll have to pick it up somewhere tonight or tomorrow.

Not true. When I get back home in the evening, there’s no note from the FedEx guy who attempted delivery. So I call them up, and after 15 minutes on hold and carefully explaining that, yes, estimated delivery is next week, but I can see on the tracking page that they tried to deliver it today, I find out which warehouse my package is located at. Unfortunately, the warehouse is closed on Saturdays, so they will attempt another delivery Tuesday. Now, I’ll be in Bethesda at the main NIH campus on Tuesday, so is there anywhere I could pick up the package instead? Unfortunately, this warehouse doesn’t allow pickups. Could I have it dropped off at a local FedEx office for pickup? Unfortunately, the shipper hasn’t specified that option. I can, however, presign online and have FedEx drop it at my doorstep, but somehow I don’t think it’s a good idea to leave a cardboard box that says HP ENVY on it on the street in front of the house, at the mercy of the weather and passers-by.

So, my best option appears to be to hope the delivery Tuesday is late in the day so that I might get home in time, and otherwise take a whole day off to catch the next one. How is it that the various postal services somehow fail to realize that most people have jobs, and can’t loaf around the house all day waiting for a package? They’re already registering my package as residential contra business, so why not take the quantum leap in sensibility and deliver residential packages in the evening? I realize that the cost would be higher, but in my uninformed opinion, it would not be a big difference. And for heaven’s sake, it would make the world a better place. Honestly, it’d be the biggest customer service revolution since online banking. Until that day, we’ll just have to resign ourselves to lots of wasted time and delays whenever we’re waiting for an important package. That’s what I’m doing at least, and honestly working around my lack of computer is much more pleasant than trying to make the delivery happen.

Oh, by the way, that bus I was waiting for never came, so after 45 minutes I had to take a cab to work.

Written by Martin

2010/02/13 at 11:23

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. welcome to the well oiled machine that is not America-maybe next time you can have it delivered to the office-or hopefully you can make friends with someone in the building who is home during the day.
    Sorry it is such a pain!
    Dada

    dada

    2010/02/13 at 22:32

  2. Yeah, I think office-delivery is the way of the future. Or the realistic second-rate future, anyway.

    solarhaphaeriom

    2010/02/15 at 10:19


Leave a Reply

